| 1 | Academic Search Premier Description: Indexes journals in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies and education.
Restrictions: DePaul users only Dates Covered: 1975-present Use to locate: Articles
Full-text available for many items. |
| 2 | America: History and Life Description: Indexes journals, books and dissertations on North American history, covering the United States and Canada. (For other countries or regions, use the database Historical Abstracts.) "Dates covered" refers to publication dates included; all historic eras are addressed, from B.C. to present day. Restrictions: DePaul users only Dates Covered: 1964-present Use to locate: Articles, Dissertations & Theses
|
| 3 | American Historical Review Description: This journal is the official publication of the American Historical Association. The articles in American Historical Review represent the leading edge in scholarly writing on American and world history. Each issue contains from two to six major articles, numerous book reviews and a section of film reviews. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Journals
|
| 4 | ArchiveGrid Description: Provides access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections owned by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. Useful for searching for historical documents, personal papers and family histories held in archives. Restrictions: DePaul users only Use to locate: Archival materials
|
| 5 | Credo Reference: History Description: A collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries covering modern and ancient world histories. Restrictions: DePaul users only Use to locate: Encyclopedias
Full-text available for many items. |
| 6 | Dictionary of National Biography (DNB) Description: Biographies of people who influenced the history of the British Isles. Included are British subjects who achieved recognition in other countries;
individuals who lived in territories formerly connected with the British Isles at a time when they were in contact with British rule, people born elsewhere who left a lasting mark on British life. Coverage stretches from the earliest times to the end of the year 2002. No living people are included. Limited to 3 simultaneous users. Restrictions: DePaul users only Use to locate: Encyclopedias
Full-text available for many items. |
| 7 | Encyclopedia of Modern Europe: Europe 1789-1914 Description: Covers European history from the onset of the French Revolution to the outbreak of World War. Restrictions: DePaul users only Use to locate: E-books, Encyclopedias
Full-text available for many items. |
| 8 | Footnote.com Description: Offers searchable original documents of the events, places and people that shaped the American nation and the world. Included are digitized selected records from the National Archives collections and resource examples include Papers of the Continental Congress (1774-89), Mathew B. Brady Collection of Civil War Photographs, Name Index to Civil War and Later Pension Files for service in the U.S. Army between 1861 and 1900. Restrictions: In library use only Use to locate: Archival materials, Government documents, Images
Full-text available for many items. |
| 9 | Historical Abstracts Description: Indexes journals, books and dissertations on all time periods of world history, excluding the United States and Canada; for those countries use the database America: History & Life. "Dates covered" refers to publication dates included; all historic eras are addressed, from B.C. to present day. Restrictions: DePaul users only Dates Covered: 1954-present Use to locate: Articles, Dissertations & Theses
|
| 10 | International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences Description: More than 4,000 articles and 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Restrictions: DePaul users only Search for this resource in the library catalog Use to locate: Books, E-books, Encyclopedias
Full-text available for many items. |
| 11 | Journal of American History Description: This Journal includes scholarly articles devoted to America's past. In addition to numerous book and film reviews, each issue provides a list of recent dissertations and published bibliographies. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Journals
|
| 12 | Journal of Modern History Description: This journal originally focused on modern Europe since the Renaissance, provides "historical analysis from a global point of view," and "features comparative and cross-cultural scholarship." Also includes review articles and lengthy book reviews. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Journals
|
| 13 | JSTOR Description: The full text of more than 500 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities. Searchable and browsable by date.
Restrictions: DePaul users only Dates Covered: 1900 to 2-5years ago Use to locate: Articles, Reviews
Full-text available for many items. |
| 14 | New Dictionary of the History of Ideas Description: Surveys the history of Western thought and culture. Explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital. Restrictions: DePaul users only Use to locate: E-books, Encyclopedias
Full-text available for many items. |
| 15 | Nineteenth Century British Pamphlets Description: Collection of primary sources on the JSTOR platform with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th century Britain. Focuses on the political, economic, and social issues that fueled the great Parliamentary debates and controversies of the 19th century. Restrictions: DePaul users only Dates Covered: 1545-1900 Use to locate: Archival materials
Full-text available for many items. |
| 16 | North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories Description: Collection of primary source documents focusing on immigrants to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Restrictions: DePaul users only Dates Covered: 1800-1950 Use to locate: Archival materials
Full-text available for many items. |
| 17 | North American Women's Letters and Diaries Description: Collection of letters and diaries that present the personal experiences of hundreds of women from Colonial times to 1950. Also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database. Restrictions: DePaul users only Dates Covered: 1675-1950 Use to locate: Archival materials
Full-text available for many items. |
| 18 | NYPL Digital Gallery Description: Searchable database of images, including Civil War photographs, illuminated manuscripts, Japanese prints, early American maps, illustrations relating to the American Revolution, and archival photographs of New York City buildings and streetscapes. Restrictions: None Use to locate: Images
|
| 19 | Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History Description: Articles by noted scholars ranging from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to 8,000-word essays on markets, industries, and labor. Restrictions: DePaul users only Use to locate: E-books, Encyclopedias
Full-text available for many items. |
| 20 | Social Sciences Abstracts Description: Indexes social science, business and political journals; with abstracts.
Restrictions: DePaul users only Dates Covered: 1983-present Use to locate: Articles, Reviews
|